Non - General Practice/NHS Is In Crisis

Good luck trying to see one of them is all I'll say. Once you do get that referral onwards, I found it business as usual in the NHS as ever it has been. Just seems to be GPs that are a bottleneck and more difficult than ever to deal with.

Thanks, it is interesting to hear that perspective and that it is intentional. If that could be communicated to the public more formally so that we understand, that would prevent a lot of frustration I think.

your reply seems to assume that all doctors surgeries work in the same way - whereas in fact they are all disparate "businesses" - the whole thing stinks as far as I'm concerned

Last edited:
I will put my head above the parapet, I'm a GP Practice Manager and have been for just over 10 years, COVID has shown a lot of GP Practices how they can now deliver a service using telephone triage and remote video options.

I started at my new practice this time last year, changed the appointments system to include more face to face appointments with telephone triage as the first contact. Our patients (in Govan) have embraced the changes and whilst they get annoyed sometimes, generally understand the new way of working. General Practice will never go back to the pre-COVID way of working.
GPs receive funding for each patient registered ?
If the GPs are spending less time with their patient where is te funding being spent ?
The GP role should be as much about prevention as treatment.

Generally found that the NHS in clinics and hospitals works fairly well. It's probably some GP practices are not as well run as they could be. Some individual GPS seem to be under strain, the one who shouted at me seemed to think everything could be done on the phone but a lot of diagnosis is decided by actually seeing the patient and how they are presenting themselves.