Players who want away!

morris.minor

First Team
Well done to West Ham and Chelsea standing up to tiresome overpaid players.
Both clubs left their disrupting players out of the squads and both won convincingly without them!

I do wonder if this will open up a can of worms that the clubs will regret. A few years back Ronaldo talked about being treated like a slave when he wasn't being allowed to move clubs. Everyone laughed but he was right - employers are on very dodgy ground if they start denying players a move to a club that is offering much higher wages. I'm no expert but from the little employment law I know anti slavery laws won't allow them to 'let him rot in the reserves' I.e. deliberately ruin someone's career because because you don't want them going to a rival. Contract or not.

anti-slavery on £100k a week!? Is he guaranteed a starting place on name alone?

Not picking a player isn't against the law.

Well wasn't it anti slavery laws that brought about our current employment laws and led to the Bosman ruling? No, not picking a player isn't against the law but maliciously damaging an employee's career probably is. Would Chelsea win a case brought by Costa if they deliberately didn't play him to teach him a lesson? Has an in-demand player been treated like that before? I can think of Yaya Toure but I'm not sure there were people lining up to pay him 2/3 times what he was on so I'm not sure he'd be able to prove they'd damaged his career.

As I say I don't know much about employment law but I suspect that this, along with the large amounts of transfer fees clubs would lose letting contracts run down, is the reason that players always get a move if they want one.

"employers are on very dodgy ground if they start denying players a move to a club that is offering much higher wages."

Absolute piffle.